lonely nights with lonely people

Your bedroom smells of lust and cinnamon
A sanctuary for the weak and romantic
Where we whisper words of love without care
Even when I am not naked before you
I am naked before you
I am stripped
I am bare
You were my first everything
My first sunrise
and my first sunset
My body a lonely shell on the beach
That you breathed life into
The morning I leave your apartment
With my heart dripping on the sidewalk
I look back and all I see are smudges
The pavement stained
I am overcome
I am defeated
And tomorrow we will do it again

Leave a Reply

