The Masked Lady

I am not easy to love, she mumbles,
heart overflowing with pain
of the fragments of men that came before, of friends that were never there
her eyes are glassy and hard
No one will love me, it is too difficult
I am the queen on a kingless throne
I am master, I am commander
I do not need you here
To make me feel like a woman
I am woman
She pushes and prods, fights her way through
I am not easy to love, she quivers
her fingers soft and hips swaying
mindlessly she curls a finger in her hair
I take care of me
I do not need you here
But in the darkest of days
She lays in his arms
Feels safe in his hold
And cries for him to love her

Leave a Reply

